jordanrosenfeld

Social Network Overwhelm

In Business of Writing, Musings on February 26, 2009 at 3:25 am

I feel so old, so out of date for what I’m about to say: between facebook and twitter and just keeping up with my two blogs, I am overwhelmed. And I don’t even get any of these applications on my cell phone! I like all of these forms of expression. The blog was a perfect outlet for a confessional sort like myself, and I understand its importance in a more professional manner, too. Facebook is a fabulous way to keep a quick tab on friends and whittle away time chasing down ghosts of the past. Twitter is like communication in haiku, but it’s also a little bit like what I imagine the stock exchange is like–conversations whizzing over and around one’s head so fast in so many directions it seems impossible that one is actually being noticed.

Yet so many people are out there, doing it all. Blogging regularly, tweeting all over the place, and seamlessly, too. How about you? Can you keep up? Which is your favorite form? If you do it all, how?

  1. Well, I feel old because I can’t run thirty meters without running out of air, but that’s another story.

    You know the best part of that crazy communication hysteria? It’s absolutely amazing how productive you suddenly become when you decide to switch all that off. I’ve tried it lately and I can’t believe how much I can actually do when I’m not interrupted.

    It would be great to do a chart with: how much time do we spend in front of a screen vs how much time do we spend talking with people we love, face to face.

  2. Well… how much time we spend and how much time we spend. Forget the “do we.” 🙂

  3. I use Facebook and Twitter and I blog as well, but I turn it all off when it’s time to write. I’ve learned a bit more about Twitter, and it’s easy to do that as a background task with Tweetdeck, while I’m fooling around, reading email,etc first thing in the morning. I consider my blog a warm-up for “real” writing.

    The important thing to learn is that it’s okay to take a day off from it all! It’ll still be there tomorrow.

    • Nixy (great name by the way), does taking the day off make it easier to come back to it, because I find I end up taking several days off and then it’s hard to get my momentum 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Thanks. 🙂 Yes, I find taking a day off occasionally is essential, but you’re right, too many in a row makes me lose track of my ‘voice’. I make myself ‘earn’ days off by getting ahead on my word count goals, so I tend not to take too many in a row, because when I’m in composition mode, I set pretty tough daily goals.

Leave a Reply

