jordanrosenfeld

Dis…connection

In General on April 11, 2009 at 12:58 am

Lately I’ve been feeling overwhelmed by social networking–I have a twitter account but I only tweet once in a great while. I don’t know which streams to follow and doubt that every one of my followers actually reads me.  I know I’ve already talked about this. Linkedin. Myspace. Blogs and newsfeeds overwhelm me. Facebook is the only site I really use and it’s actually worked to connect me locally with other mothers as well as being a great way to keep up with faraway friends.

Yet yesterday, an act of sabotage of fiberoptic cables in the county where I live, disrupted access to phones (cell and home) and internet for the entire day. Just one day, but I was going out of my mind. I couldn’t email an editor to let her know that I hadn’t made progress on tracking down a photo she needed. I couldn’t call my mortgage broker or email him to find out if he had all the paperwork he needed for our home loan. I couldn’t email assignments that were due. Worse, were there a true emergency, I couldn’t even call 911 (and neither could hundreds of thousands of others). ATMs were down. Most businesses were accepting only cash and checks, and so many people couldn’t even get gas in their cars. It was alarming how cut off we felt.

So, while I can’t maintain all the networking and connections that are available to me, I admit I am still thoroughly dependent upon my technology, and this doesn’t seem like a good thing.

Leave a Reply

