jordanrosenfeld

Three Steps to Platform Building

In General on April 14, 2009 at 3:23 pm

My interview with Christina Katz, author of Get Known Before the Book Deal and Writer Mama, continues…

 

I have long been in awe of your ability to promote your books, through blogs and newsletters, which are all essential parts of building a strong platform. Did you learn to do this along the way once your book Writer Mama was published, or did you have this kind of natural savvy all along?

 

I learned everything gradually and I do it all myself. This isn’t the path for everyone and certainly there is nothing wrong with teaming up with reputable professionals, who can help you with your website, blog design, or newsletter. But for those of us do-it-yourselfers, we can find most everything we need right at our fingertips online.

 

I started out building websites in HTML about ten years ago. Five years ago, I added on Writers on the Rise. Then, three months before Writer Mama came out, in 2007, I started my first blog. Today, I have three active websites, three monthly e-zines, and four active blogs. Yes, it’s a lot to manage, but supervising my own online presence is great discipline and it helps me appreciate myself, my work, and stay in touch with my readers and students. At one time, I knew everyone who knew me. But now that there are thousands of them and still only one of me, these tools are definitely the way to go.

 

For your readers who are just getting started, I have three suggestions: Purchase your name as a domain name, use Typepad.com for blogging, and start an e-mail list of people interested in following your work. Everything grows from there.

 

Don’t miss tomorrow’s question: What do you think is the biggest mistake writers make regarding platform?

Leave a Reply

