jordanrosenfeld

Confessions of a Plot Junkie

In General on June 14, 2009 at 6:00 pm

From my essay “Confessions of a Plot Junkie” in the July/August 2009 issue of Writer’s Digest magazine. That and your “publishing survival guide” in this chock full issue:

“Perhaps plot scares writers because it demands precision and care and some really hard work. And as a writer, I know there is nothing more exhilarating than the gloriously messy process of spilling out the first rough beauty of my muse.

“As a reader, however, I have similar expectations for the journey of a book as I do for when I travel. I want someone to be at the desk of the hotel to check me in (the narrator), and some sort of guide to places where I can find food, sights and entertainment. I want to know where I am and where I’m going and be assured that everything’s going to work out in the end because someone thought about all the details. In fiction, plot is the map that helps us wind in and out of alleys but eventually leads us back to lighted streets.”

  1. Yeah, but what if you fly economy and stay at whatever Priceline can find you for under $30.00?

    🙂

    Agree. And writers (and wannabe writers) are the hardest “travellers” to please of all.

    –John

Leave a Reply

