jordanrosenfeld

Adjusting to the Noise

In General on July 2, 2009 at 9:16 pm

I will admit that I felt overwhelmed by Twitter up until, oh, yesterday, I’d say. I don’t know if it’s that, as a mother, I’m already juggling six streams of action at any given time, or if  the human brain born before say, 1985, takes extra time to become wired to follow 500 lines of conversation at once. Either way, it gave me a headache every time I logged on.

Then I downloaded Tweetdeck and just start to follow the stream of voices the way I might listen to conversations in a cafe–some of them stick and others drift right past me.

And now? Now I have to admit I’m hooked. It took me a similarly longish amount of time to get pro at Facebook. But I’m not ready for whatever micro technology is to follow Twitter. One word  posts on ring-sized devices? Why does technology seem to condense down to the more and more micro?

I feel for the elderly with their swollen knuckles and bad eyes. Today’s technology is ageist by its very design.

And now my tiny boy is demanding I take my attention off blogs and Twitter and put it back where it belongs–in the human realm.

  1. The only problem with Twitter is that it is mildly addictive, and only makes the loneliness of writing on the blank page even harder…

    • More than mildly, I’d say Neil. Though I’m actually finding I feel less lonely in its company, which sort of scares me.

  2. Aaah! That juggling act. My 13-year old said to me today, “When is the last time you called me over to your computer to see something funny. I am afraid of the bombardment of Twitter. It’s so random. I prefer the coffee shop stream. You can tune in and out at your leisure. It is changing me, though. And I can’t say it’s for the better.

    • I prefer the coffee shop stream, too, frankly. I go with the technology because a part of me is still 14 years old and hates to be left out of what’s popular. But I don’t always like it!

Leave a Reply

