jordanrosenfeld

Writer’s Drift: How to Finish What You Start

In 1 on October 2, 2009 at 6:28 pm

I am an unashamed multi-tasker, even though the scientific reports are in proving that multi-tasking does NOT get any more done than focusing on one project at a time. It’s kind of a sickness, I think, the type-A personality’s desperate belief that if we do more at once, we will have more to show for our work. And thus be “more” rich, famous, loved by our parents/spouses/kids and so on. (insert wry grin here).

I wish I could say that this did not happen in my fiction, too, but alas, I’ve got five half-started novels abandoned at 100 pages each to prove that I have been known to get seduced by a “better” idea. I was about to do it again recently after re-starting one such discarded novel that a published writing friend has been encouraging me to finish. A story had hit the media, making splashes in tabloids and gossip blogs that sounded like Such A Great Idea for a Novel that I almost gave up on Novel I Need to Finish.  You know what I mean if you’ve got monkey mind like me.

Fortunately I remembered the most important rule of writing: If you don’t write, nothing gets written!! And worse: if you don’t continue writing, nothing gets finished. With nothing finished you cannot realize your big dreams of published fame and glory.

So I drummed up some strategies to keep me focused, to help me finish what I start, and then I realized that other writers could benefit from these strategies too!

So it’s not too late to sign up for Finish What You Start, a 1 week online class through my website, Write Livelihood. The class is just $49 and begins October 12th. There is still time to register: www.jordanrosenfeld.net/events-classes.html.

**UPDATE** I’m offering 2 free scholarships to this class to people who really need it but can’t afford it. Please email me with:

a) Why you really need this class and how you intend to use it!

jordansmuse (at) gmail (dot) com.

  1. I say, “Pet your multi-tasking monkey!” Er, I mean…
    I have a whole zoo in my mind, not just a monkey.
    :o)

Leave a Reply

