jordanrosenfeld

Let the Page Hold Your Weight

In Classes, Craft on November 11, 2009 at 5:56 pm

crinkly paperIt’s been a trying time lately. Sad, difficult and unexpected events have happened to people all around me, close friends and family members. I feel like I’ve been sitting inside a thin tent in a Saharan windstorm–protected, but barely. Eventually, the silt gets in, even if it isn’t yours.

On my low days, I take it into my very cells and feel heavy with it. Stay in a bad mood. Snap at my son and husband.

On good days, I channel it into writing. It just so happens that the protagonist of my novel and her best friend/co-protagonist have to get into some seriously screwed up situations, too. And on a regular old sunny day with blue sky flaunting herself out my window, it’s hard to get into writing about these emotional tangles. 

So these difficult days, days like today, when the funk is thick and the mood is blue–I can go there into the sorrow, the conflict and the muck. I can shed my pain in my pages, let my characters wear it instead of me.

***

If you want to learn more about this, I’m teaching a 1 week online class called “Method Writing” the week of December 14th. www.jordanrosenfeld.net/events-classes.html. Just $49, or, if you want to sign up for the three week series, it’s $129 for all three.

 

  1. Jordan, I am so with you. In real life, and on the page.

    A wise woman and wonderful teacher once showed me how to plunge into the difficult emotions dealt in life and make them live in word. I am sure you will find a way to channel the raw into a creation of beauty.

    But for now, I wish that your writing will soon parallel the sunshine. Peace, Linda

  2. Thanks, Linda. Writing today really did help! I got to slough it off (somewhat).

    I’ll be looking for that sunshine soon, though. Hope you’re well, too.

  3. I was thinking about this yesterday while sitting in the hospital waiting for my appointment. I watched all the people around me in various levels of health, wondering what was going on in their world, what would happen if I woke up suddenly in their bodies instead of my own, of what my own future might hold…and I thought about how I feel like I can hold on to the grace in the darkest moments if I can connect to the story of it all, a grand, bittersweet and crazy story.
    Writing is a life raft. Permission to be in the world but not suffocated by it.

Leave a Reply

