jordanrosenfeld

Arrest Me

In 1 on November 28, 2009 at 12:21 am

…by which I mean, stop me in my literary tracks, please, with an image so stark or jarring or perfectly built that I can’t help myself.

Like any good John Gardner fan, I want to be caught up in that seamless dream that fiction, or really any well built narrative creates. But I also like to stop and admire the posies in your prose. If you can plant a sturdy image that plugs me in the heart, or cuts scythe-like straight to my subconscious, or taps at some thematic echo in the story, I will remember your writing. I will covet it and want to read more.

There’s good writing, and then there’s good writing with fabulous images.

And I’m not just talking about pretty landscapes or interesting details about unique settings. I’m talking about images that conjure other things. That poke emotional holes in a reader. That grease the story with your theme, but only subtly.

If you can learn to write them well, your writing will stand like a burning bush amidst the shrubs of the rest.

If you’re interested in learning how to do this better, it’s not too late to sign up for Image Building, beginning November 30th. 1 week. $49. Intense and Fun. www.jordanrosenfeld.net/events-classes.html

 

Leave a Reply

