jordanrosenfeld

It Happens to the Toughest of Us

In Craft, Writers on Revision on February 1, 2010 at 4:33 pm

“The first draft reveals the art, revision reveals the artist.” Michael Lee

No one is immune to the discouragement that comes in the process of scaling the craggy, seemingly impossibly high mountain of revision.

Just last night, after two weeks of gleefully gutting my manuscript I hit the sinkhole. The feeling that, even after all this revision, I still had so much more to do…was it even worth it? Should I gut the entire first act altogether? Should I rewrite the thing from scratch? Not my finest hour, I’ll tell you.

But I woke up this morning with that same sense of possibility: Oh yeah, I get to rewrite this. I have the power to change whatever I want. It says nothing about me that it isn’t “there” yet except that I am not done. And to quit now would be silly.

So, in April I’m teaching a 4-week class on Revision for Publication, and I’ve realized how important it is that I include, each week, several supportive strategies to help writers power through the discouragement and disappointment inevitable in the revision process. It will be as crucial as the editing tricks.

To Register: www.jordanrosenfeld.net/events-classes.html

  1. there is no good writing, there is only great rewriting

Leave a Reply

