jordanrosenfeld

Antidote to Doubt

In Craft, General, Musings on March 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

This week was supposed to be my series on Time Management. Well time showed me–by being elusive, strangely compressed and very unavailable. So it’s likely the series will come to you next week, when Time comes down off its big ego-high.

In the meantime, I’ve been grappling with something many writers do, the very thing I have great empathy for with my clients: Is it worth all the fuss,  labor, pain, drama and, yes–time–to work at this thing called writing when the end result cannot be guaranteed? Is there any point if you can’t count on publishing?

This leads to a nasty little virus called doubt. Once it gets in, it infects everything. You find yourself doubting not just your writing, but your very character. Doubt is poison to writing.

So thankfully, just as I was feeling doubt’s tickle in my throat this morning I got an antidote: the wonderful e-newsletter from Winslow Elliot that reminded me of something very important, which she got from the author John P. Locke (the living one–which I doubly like because I’m back into Lost):

John writes because it’s FUN.

I had forgotten that feeling. How books used to pour from me, with cheerful abundance, like a fountain. How words were playful, interesting things – not heavy stones to build a tome. Sentences could come and go, like a breeze. Chapters were filled with laughter and (usually) lots of kisses. A story was light as sunshine, and sprang forth like flowers.

Thanks mostly to John Locke, but also thanks to all the other pioneers of this exciting Independent Publishing Movement, I was finally able to let go of a rope I’d clung to for far too long. Since then, I’ve found that I can sit back and watch in wonder as one sentence leads mysteriously to the next, and stories grow of their own accord – because it’s ‘flow’ – because it’s fun.
_______

  1. Doubt is a two headed fire breathing dragon. I hate it.

    –John

Leave a Reply

