jordanrosenfeld

Quick Time Tip

In Craft, Writers on Time on March 23, 2010 at 4:40 pm

I don’t claim to be any mistress of time management, hence why I’m letting OTHER people tell you their strategies, but I have recently discovered a surprising little strategy that works.

I’m always trying to figure out how to work in my fiction writing–especially as I’m sunk into the deepest gunk of a novel revision right now. When I try to carve out an hour each day (of the 4-5 I have childcare), I often find it impossible.

Then it struck me! What if I gave myself one day to ONLY write fiction. No work, no procrastination. One whole day I could sweetly anticipate for much of the week?

Guess what? It worked! Monday, Tues and Weds, I work my hiney off to make sure I can take Thursday to write. I found I was more efficient on those first three days in order to “earn” that day of fiction only writing. It worked so well, I found myself ahead of the game.

If you have the luxury to make such a schedule, I highly recommend it.

  1. Jordan, I love love love your tip (and the image of you working madly to give yourself time off)!

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

