jordanrosenfeld

I Discovered the Internet

In Business of Writing, Musings on July 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm

There are days where I feel like I am the last person to the party. By the time I joined Myspace, everyone had moved on to Facebook. By the time I joined Facebook, well, thankfully everyone was still there, but they were also tweeting. And I was like, “hey, there’s this really cool place where you can connect with old high school friends called classmates.com…”

No, seriously…The point of today’s post is to express my awe and gratitude for what the internet has done for me and my writing, even if I am the last person to realize it.

I don’t think we can hold up the “technology isolates people” banner for too much longer at this rate. It may change how we interact, but it’s made me feel more connected and more supported than I ever felt before it. I was always lucky to have a wonderful community of writing friends. Now I have one that is several hundred people large. And what amazes me, on a daily basis, is how generous and willing people are to support each other. I’ve met lifelong friends this way, some of my best critique partners, and writers whose work I admire.

So this is just me saying, WOW, this is cool. Thank you. Thanks to all of you who read this blog, take my classes, hire me to edit your work, support my literary endeavors, spread word of mouth via one of a gazillion social networks, email me to tell me you read my books, share your stories, or just generally become my friend.

Thank you.

  1. Agreed!

  2. Jordan, this is a very timely article–I heard Jane Friedman speak last weekend, and she really supported us all to connect however we can, and to accept that the ebook, blog, and social network world is just getting started, and it’s going to be around in some form for a long time. We just have to accept it and continue whatever efforts we have time and energy to contribute. Thanks for being on of my online friends. (And it was so great to meet you in person too!).

  3. Thanks, Linda. I had hoped to be at that conference, but family matters intervened. I love what Jane has to say.

Leave a Reply

