jordanrosenfeld

Intrepid Dreamers

In Business of Writing, Interviews, Profiles, Musings on October 21, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Most of the freelance writers I know are talented dreamers, who took to the field through a variety of unusual paths–many giving up jobs that sucked the life out of their souls, many taking huge leaps of faith to launch themselves.

Recently, one of these intrepid dreamers, Brandi-Ann Uyemura, looked me up after reading some of my work. It turns out she lives less than a half hour from me, so we decided to get together for coffee, to talk about the writing life. For freelancers, who no longer have offices, it’s a good thing to get together in person, step out of the isolation of our desks, put on something other than pajamas (you know who you are!), and talk shop.Brandi

The visit was such a pleasant reminder that not everyone in the freelance world is in competition with each other, that some of us work better together, in fact.

She has since interviewed me for her blog 2inspired.com.

She’s a talented and inspiring writer who deserves to thrive!

  1. I have an office in another room in the house, and I joke about my “short commute”. You were pointing a finger at me when you said we need to step away from the house and associate with others. I can hardly wait for my move, so that I actually have others with whom I *can* associate. Living half an hour from humanity has distinct drawbacks.

    I honestly don’t work in my pajamas, though. I force myself to stick to my old university schedule, getting up between 5 and 6 and pushing to keep my mental acuity in this overwhelming solitude.

    Brandi-Ann sounds fabulous!

  2. Maggie, I love my short commute. I wouldn’t return to office life for the world, but I do need human contact. Are you moving into an office? How exciting.

    Having my son was what stopped me from working in my pajamas. There’s nothing like spending a day covered in various fluids and foods to make you want to look like a real person first thing in the morning!

  3. Thanks Jordan! It’s amazing how one meeting can have so many benefits-not just professionally (and it did since your advice rocked!) but personally. I felt so inspired after we met. When I returned home I reupholstered my dining room chair, applied for a job, and wrote three blog posts.

Leave a comment